The Real Story Of The Invention Of The Internet….As Told by The Real Inventor & Cartoons/& Their Inspiration by Rick London

Al Gore kinda sorta DID invent the internet after all.

Rick London Syndication

     Sometimes people believe the story behind this cartoon and more often than not, they don’t.

     Perhaps the year was 1999. I was taking a sabbatical from cartooning but still talking about it with people because I was mainly looking for people who could lead me in the right direction.  My venture was only two years old and my site contained less than 1000 cartoons. Some of them were fairly good, but remember I was 44 and quite immature for my age, okay immature for a 25 year old’s age, but hey, I was becoming in my mind “The King Of Cartooning”.

     Along the way, online, I  met a very nice guy, a Dr. Vinton Cerf who lived in Washington, D.C as I had done for 12 years.  Vint was a Sr. VP at MCI when it was still open.

     Back then, if I remember correctly…

View original post 516 more words

One thought on “The Real Story Of The Invention Of The Internet….As Told by The Real Inventor & Cartoons/& Their Inspiration by Rick London

  1. Thanks Daniel for the reblog. Please keep in mind Al Gore never said he invented the Internet. His exact words were, “I created the incentive to invent the Internet”. Anyone who has worked on “The Hill” know that in poltico-language, that is exactly what he did; or, he drove the bill through Congress to turn it from TCP/IP to Internet. According to Dr. Cerf, Gore also created the term Information Superhighway to help get Congress’ attention as he felt they’d be asleep as usual at hearing Arapnet or TCP-IP. Gore also came up with the concept of domain parking. He had very much to do with the invention of the Internet so all the GOP who still smugly tell the joke, and many do, further show their IQ when they do.

Leave a Reply

